“4/20”

Here is an excerpt of an editorial post about my experience with marijuana.

The first time I smoked weed was at a friend’s house on a warm Friday afternoon; sometime between my senior year of high school and my freshman year of college. It was a big deal. A random group of kids showed up to celebrate the occasion. We ate brownies with marshmallows on top then got impatient so we smoked out of a homemade water bottle bong. After a few hits, I kept insisting I wasn’t high. Then I exhaled when I should’ve inhaled and blew the weed everywhere. Everyone yelled at me.

I went to college and my roommate was a pothead so I smoked a few more times after that. We’d do all the typical stoner stuff: eat Annie’s Mac & Cheese substituted with half & half, take 30 minute showers in what my roommate called “American life water”, listen to the latest Ellie Golding dubstep remix, talk about nothing, try and fail to do some homework, sleep.

But the first time I really got high was my Freshman year 4/20. I smoked a joint with a friend and we walked around Manhattan. We rode the really tall escalator in Forever 21 and tried on funky sunglasses. We rode down the really tall escalator wearing our funky sunglasses. Then we walked out to the street and into a coffee shop with bright yellow walls, blaring French music, and a chalkboard menu with items and prices written in pink words too small to read – we kept our sunglasses on. A wiry mustached male barista with an undetectable foreign accent and a scary smile asked us what we wanted. We left without buying anything. We call those, “deleted scenes”.

To read the entire piece, click here.

https://ginamariacunsolo.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/confessions-of-an-ex-pothead/

Leave a comment